Who are we ?

Covid-19 : Track the facts is a project to fight disinformation about the virus. In the time of fake news and social media, it's not always easy to separate the real from the false news that circulate around coronavirus.

How to verify information? How to debunk fake news? What are the good moves to adopt to avoid disinformation? Our journalists address the issue. Their objective is to detect disinformation and to give you all the tools so you don't fall into the fake news trap!

COVID-19 : Track the facts is a project established by the Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ) in partnership with the Agence Science-Presse (ASP).

This project is funded by the Government of Canada.

 

 

The team
 

The team is formed of journalists, infographists, social media managers, and coordinators from both organizations.

Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec

 

Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec is a non-profit organization that brings together about 1800 journalists from more than 250 written and web media in Quebec.

Since 1969, it defends freedom of press and the public right to information. The FPJQ intervenes every time that freedom of press is threatened. It makes the voices of journalists heard everywhere it is necessary : in parliamentary committees, in front of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), in town councils, and ahead of judges, police and public organizations when the communication policies hinder the work of journalists. As a nonprofit organization, the FPJQ is the principal and the most representative journalistic organization in Canada.

Since 2017, the FPJQ sponsors the program #30sec to check it out to fight against disinformation. A few journalists who are also members of the FPJQ offer training to second cycle high school students on a volunteer basis, in order to give them the skill to catch fake news and to better understand their devastating impact in society. The objective of this workshop is to sharpen their critical sense, whichever information medium they consult. The FPJQ wishes, parallel to this fake news training, to heighten awareness to the role of a responsible press and to better promote the work of journalists. Since 2019, the training is offered for the greater public and given in CEGEPs, universities and librairies across the province.

Agence Science-Presse 

 

L'Agence Science-Presse is a nonprofit independent media established in Montreal in 1978. Its mission is to bring scientific news to the media. It is the only science press agency in Canada and the only one in all of French-speaking countries that speaks directly to mass media rather than to businesses.

The principal publication of the Agence for a long time was the bulletin Hebdo-Science et technologie. News outlets that are subscribed to its press service could reuse the entire content, which consisted in journalistic articles and news on different topics related to science.

But since 1996, the website of the Agence became quite important, to the point where it overtook the bulletin : more people now read the news from Agence Science-Presse directly on its website. The website of the Agence is visited by almost one million visitors each year, and its presence is strong on social media (more than 20 000 followers on Twitter).

L'Agence Science-Presse, also specialized in media education, fights against fake news with its section Le Détecteur de rumeurs, and also produces the content for a program of fight against disinformation, #30sec to check it out.

À l’heure des fausses nouvelles et des médias sociaux, il n’est pas toujours évident de faire le tri entre le vrai et le faux qui circulent sur le coronavirus.

Comment vérifier l’information ? Comment débusquer les fausses nouvelles ? Quels sont les bons gestes à adopter pour éviter l’infodémie ? Nos journalistes se penchent sur le sujet. Leur objectif ? Dépister la désinfo, et vous donner tous les outils pour ne pas tomber dans le panneau des fausses nouvelles !

COVID-19 : Dépister la désinfo, est un projet mis sur pied par la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ) en partenariat avec l’Agence Science-Presse (ASP).

Il est financé par le gouvernement du Canada.

 

 

L'équipe
 

 

L’équipe est formée de journalistes, infographistes, gestionnaires de communauté et coordonnateurs(trices) issus(e) des deux associations.

La FPJQ est un organisme sans but lucratif qui rassemble environ 1800 journalistes dans plus de 250 médias écrits et électroniques au Québec.

Depuis 1969, la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec défend la liberté de presse et le droit public à l’information. Elle intervient chaque fois que la liberté de presse est menacée. Elle fait entendre la voix des journalistes partout où c’est nécessaire, dans les commissions parlementaires, devant le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC), dans les conseils municipaux, auprès des juges, de la police et des organismes publics dont les politiques de communication entravent le travail des journalistes. Organisme sans but lucratif, la FPJQ est la principale et la plus représentative organisation journalistique au Canada.

Depuis 2017, la FPJQ parraine le programme #30 secondes avant d’y croire afin de lutter contre la désinformation. Des journalistes membres de la FPJQ offrent bénévolement une formation aux étudiants du 2e cycle des écoles secondaires partout au Québec, afin de leur donner des réflexes pour repérer les fausses nouvelles et mieux comprendre leur impact dévastateur dans la société. L’objectif de cet atelier est de forger leur sens critique, quel que soit le média d’information qu’ils consultent. La FPJQ désire, parallèlement à cette formation sur les fausses nouvelles, sensibiliser aussi les jeunes au rôle d’une presse responsable et mieux faire connaître le travail des journalistes. Depuis 2019, la formation est déclinée pour le grand public et donnée dans des cégeps, universités, et bibliothèques de la province.

L’Agence Science-Presse est un média indépendant, à but non lucratif, fondé à Montréal en 1978. Sa mission est d’alimenter les médias en nouvelles scientifiques. Elle est la seule agence de presse scientifique au Canada et la seule de toute la francophonie qui s’adresse aux grands médias plutôt qu’aux entreprises.

La principale publication de l’Agence a longtemps été le bulletin Hebdo-Science et technologie. Les médias abonnés à son service de presse peuvent réutiliser l’ensemble de son contenu, qui consiste en des articles journalistiques et des brèves sur différents sujets à teneur scientifique.

Mais depuis 1996, le site web de l’Agence a pris une importance considérable, au point de supplanter le bulletin : davantage de gens lisent désormais les textes de l’Agence Science-Presse via le site web. Ainsi, le site internet de l’Agence est visité par près d’un million de visiteurs chaque année, et sa présence est forte sur les réseaux sociaux (plus de 20 000 abonnés sur Twitter).

L’Agence Science-Presse, spécialisée aussi en éducation aux médias, lutte contre les fausses nouvelles avec sa rubrique le Détecteur de rumeurs, et réalise le contenu du programme de lutte contre la désinformation de la FPJQ, #30 secondes avant d’y croire.